Summer (beach/lake) dress for my mom

My mom asked me whether I could sew her a light summer dress to wear at the beach or a lake or… She had some fabric left, and I drafted a basic bodice block already for her Simplicity 3877 summer dress. I took it again and made a dress with princess seams and a wider skirt according to the instructions in my book for pattern drafting. The dress was easy to sew (three parts form the front, three parts form the back, the neckline is straight). I only needed a good solution for the armholes and again decided for bias binding. Again, I used the method for preparing bias tape (here I wrote about the tutorials I found). But then sewing the bias tape was always difficult. I already thought about buying a bias tape maker. However, I found another great tutorial, a really easy method to form bias tape: all you need are two fixing pins and an ironing bord. I used three needles just to be sure, but it worked out nicely. Now I definitely won’t need a bias tape maker. With this method, I easily made enough bias tape for the dress. And now, finally, the new summer dress in action:
IMG_4208a
IMG_4207

Leave a Reply

