Pattern drafting – my new book

Now that I tried to draw three different patterns with my new book – “Schnittkonstruktion für Damenmode” (written by Guido Hofenbitzer, published at Europa Verlag), I’ll give you an overlook about my impression about this book. Maybe an extended review will follow later, but then in german, as the book is written in german. The book was rated really good on the amazon website and on several sewing websites, they were thrilled about this book. I found out that the first pages were available as a pdf on the website of the publishing company and after reading them, I decided to buy the book. I liked the way it is written, it’s style how it explains drafting…

According to the foreword of the book, one big inspiration was the pattern construction by Mueller and Son (I’m not sure whether there is a translated version) and another book cited is “Patternmaking for fashion design” from Helen Joseph-Armstrong (which is originally written in english). This is my first book on pattern drafting, others might follow (BIG maybe). I chose this book as it fits well to my logic and way of thinking.

I like the step by step instructions for the basic patterns, they are very good explained. I had no problems drafting a basic skirt, a basic trousers and a basic shirt. Skirt and shirt were fitting nicely, the back part of the trousers was really good, the front part was okay. The reason for this might be the measurements of your body, it’s quite important to measure the right way and I was doing it on my own. Trousers are more difficult and little mistakes might have a bigger influence on the pattern.

Luckily, there are also a few explanations if you’re not having the standard proportions. A second book is supposed to be published dealing with changes in pattern drawing due to non-standard proportions. So far, the few explanations were enough for me and helped me in understanding why patterns look like they do. In general, it helped me a lot in understanding bought patterns better.

It’s also nice that several alterations are explained, but they are quite often not that detailed as the basic patterns. That’s okay, otherwise the book would be huge. You just have to take a bit more care and not rush through it. I did a little mistake on the cowl neck (I misunderstood one little part) which ended in not having a cowl neck. My fault😉. The biggest challenge will be to draw a pattern for a well-fitting jacket. So the story continues…

One comment

  1. This sounds like a great book. I’ve looked at the Patternmaking for Fashion Design book before. It has a lot of great information but I had to return it to the library and wasn’t able to get as much as I could from it.

    It sounds like you’re getting a lot out of this. Have fun experimenting!

Leave a Reply

